First Dinner of the New Year!

Mustard Balsamic Baked Chicken with Roasted Vegetables

I must admit, I definitely chose this recipe because the picture looked so appetizing! I waited until I had a day off to make this recipe because it has a half hour marinade time and a cook time of 1 hour 15 minutes, far too long for a week night. But when all was said and done, my family really enjoyed the dinner, despite my husbands hesitation to the “crispy pieces” on the chicken.

I only made a few changes to this recipe. The package of chicken I bought included 6 thighs, instead of the 4 the recipe calls for, so i increased all of the marinade ingredients by 50%. I also substituted jarred, chopped garlic for chopping fresh garlic. (I honestly have no desire to take on the task of chopping my own garlic when it comes so nicely prepared in the little jar!)  I used green peppers instead of red peppers (because they were so much cheaper), and i had to take the chicken out of the oven at 1 hour 15 minutes to avoid burning, but the veggies were not done, so I placed a piece of loose foil over the pan and put the veggies back in for about 10 extra minutes.

Everyone really enjoyed this meal, the chicken and veggies were baby friendly after being cooled, and my 6 year old loves any meat that “comes on a bone”. I would recommend this meal for a crowd, or a cold evening when you don’t mind having the oven on for an extended period of time.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

